31 WSP troopers sworn in at state capitol

31 WSP troopers sworn in at state capitol

The Washington State Patrol welcomed 31 troopers to the force on Thursday.

The troopers were sworn in at a ceremony the Washington State Capitol in Olympia by state Supreme Court Chief Justice Mary Fairhurst. They were presented commission cards by Gov. Jay Inslee and WSP Chief John Batista.

Each graduating cadet completed more than 1,000 of training at the Washington State Patrol Academy. Historically, only four to six percent of applicants become state troopers.

“The 31 cadets graduating today endured a rigorous application process, extensive background investigation, and received the best training, unmatched anywhere else in the nation,” said Chief Batiste. “Today, they will join the ranks of Washington’s finest, as troopers of the Washington State Patrol.”

These men and women made up the WSP’s 110th Basic Training Class. They have been assigned to districts around the state.

Among them, Trooper Jesus Perez of Pasco will serve Kennewick in District 3 and Trooper Ellis Cuillier of Yakima will serve Ellensburg in District 6.

Be the first to know with the YakTriNews app. Breaking news alerts, watch live newscasts and get the most up-to-date local news on the go. Click here to download for iOS and Android.