Feds give states deadline to comply with Real ID law

Feds give states deadline to comply with Real ID law

NEW YORK (CNNMoney) — States that are dragging their feet on new federal rules for airport IDs now have a hard deadline.

The Department of Homeland Security released a series of cutoffs on Friday related to the federal “Real ID” law. If states don’t comply by January 22, 2018, some travelers may have to bring along their passport or other form of TSA-approved ID to fly domestically in the U.S.

The Real ID Act, enacted after the 2001 terror attacks, set standards on what documents are needed to get a driver’s license. It was an effort to crack down on the potential for terrorists and criminals to obtain state-issued IDs.

But not every state has taken steps to adopt the new standards.

Five states aren’t compliant and haven’t requested an extension from DHS — Illinois, Minnesota, Missouri, New Mexico and Washington.

Another four states — California, Alaska, New Jersey and South Carolina — have at least applied for extensions to their waivers.

Then there are 19 states that have existing waivers: Arizona Arkansas Idaho Kentucky Louisiana Maine Massachusetts Michigan Montana New Hampshire New York North Carolina North Dakota Oklahoma Oregon Pennsylvania Rhode Island Texas Virginia

The good news is that all of these states have until the 2018 deadline to get their acts together. Until then, travelers will be fine using just state-issued IDs.

According to Homeland Security, 22 states and Washington, D.C. are fully compliant: Alabama Colorado Connecticut Delaware Florida Georgia Hawaii Indiana Iowa Kansas Maryland Mississippi Nebraska Nevada Ohio South Dakota Tennessee Utah Vermont Washington, D.C. West Virginia Wisconsin Wyoming

To check the status of any state, visit the DHS website.

By Ahiza Garcia

™ & © 2016 Cable News Network, Inc., a Time Warner Company. All rights reserved.