GALLERY: Yakima School District announces Crystal Apple award recipients

YAKIMA, Wash.  — The Yakima School District has announced this year’s Excellence in Education Crystal Apple Award recipients, who were chosen due to the positive impacts they have made on students’ lives.

“This award honors the certified educator profession as a whole by awarding certificated individuals who positively impact the lives and futures of their students,” Yakima School District officials said in a news release.

Crystal Apple Award recipients include:

  • Caitlin Lindborg, Instructional Facilitator at Nob Hill Elementary
  • Erin Thomas, Principal at Nob Hill Elementary School
  • Analisa Montemayor, Counselor at Franklin Middle School
  • Anita “Chris” DeMonbrun, 3rd Grade Teacher at Gilbert Elementary School
  • Carl Scott, Teacher at A.C. Davis High School
  • Kyleen Welch, Teacher/Interventionist at Roosevelt Elementary School

According to school district officials, the goals of the Crystal Apple Awards are to…

  • Reward excellence in education in the Yakima Public Schools
  • Encourage creative and quality instruction
  • Encourage the development of a positive learning environment
  • Encourage excellent educators to remain in education as a career
  • Provide an incentive for individual initiative on the part of educators
  • Contribute in a substantive way to the improvement of education in the Yakima School District.

More information about the award recipients can be found here.