Oregon to enter new ‘risk level’ system to help combat COVID-19

All but 11 counties are considered 'Extreme Risk'
Oregon Risk Level Map

SALEM, Ore. — With Oregon’s two-week statewide freeze coming to an end Dec. 2, counties will now enter into one of four risk levels in a new health and safety framework designed to stall the coronavirus.

RELATED: Oregon Gov. Kate Brown announces 14-day statewide “freeze”

The risk levels — Extreme Risk, High Risk, Moderate Risk, and Lower Risk — are based off of the COVID-19 spread in each county.

According to the Oregon Health Authority as of Nov. 30

  • Extreme Risk: 25 counties
  • High Risk: 5 counties
  • Moderate Risk: 2 counties
  • Lower Risk: 4 counties

Counties will be reassessed on Dec. 3 following the statewide freeze. Every subsequent two-week period, the Oregon Health Authority will examine and publish county data weekly, but county risk levels will not change until the end of the second week.

Click here to look at live updates on Oregon’s site.